top of page

Cage the rage!!

I was casually browsing LinkedIn today when I came across this trending news story:


According to this article in the BBC, rage quitting is quite the rage these days.


People quit companies for myriad reasons. But resigning in the heat of the moment shows that things have really spiraled out of control.


Ideally one wishes to enter and exit any organization on their own terms.


Quitting in a rage is not the solution. It creates a bad impression and might affect your chances of future employment.


But we’re only human. And there are times when we do feel inclined to throw all nuances of decorum and decency out of the window. But when you do get that feeling: think again! It’s not worth it.


On this note, let me share with you a personal experience of mine.


Once in my career, during an appraisal I got a rating which I felt I did not deserve.

I had literally worked my butt out, slogged day and night to meet the targets. And at the end of it all, all I got was like a pat on the back and a “Good” rating. I was expecting something outstanding and phenomenal, for all the effort I had put in through.


So pissed was I, that I had the overpowering impulse to submit my resignation and walk out of the company that very moment. But call it providence or something, I had the good sense to let my boss know about my decision before I took the extreme step.


My boss was surprised. He asked me the reason and I blurted out my feelings (most of which were not so favorable towards my company and its’ skewed appraisal system).


“Are you sure?” he asked me.


“Yes.” I said.


“Have you made up your mind?” he asked again.


“Absolutely.” I said.


“Do you have another offer in hand?” He asked.


“No.” I replied. “But I’m confident that I will find one soon.” I added hurriedly noting his puzzled expression.


“Well then.” He sighed and continued “I won’t stop you.”


As I got up to leave he asked me this, “Can you do me one favor before you put out your papers?”


“Sure. What is it?” I asked.


“We have a walk-in recruitment drive tomorrow. We’re a bit short on interview panel personnel. Can you fill in? Just one last job.” He asked.


I shrugged and said “Ok.”


And so I attended the walk-in. I was stunned to see the turnout. It seemed as if almost the entire city had turned out for the interview. I conducted numerous interviews in what turned out to be a tiring and stressful day.


The next day, my boss asked me “How did it go?”


“Very tiring. You should have seen the turnout. It was like the entire city had attended.” I said.


“So did you notice how many candidates had come in? How many people applied for just a few positions?” He asked.


I nodded my head slowly. I noticed how many people were desperately looking for a change.


“Didn’t it strike you that among those candidates, there were probably so many people like you who quit in a rage and are now standing in endless queues in walk-ins? How many people like you quit their job without another offer in hand and are now desperately seeking employment? Do you think that you’re indispensable to the company? Will the company not thrive once you’ve left? Absolutely not. For the company, you are just an entry in the payroll, a mere statistic. The moment you leave, you will be replaced by another person. And life goes on. So quit that attitude.” He said to me.


Tears were slowly welling into my eyes.


“I agree with you sir. But isn’t it unfair that I be given such a low rating considering all the effort I had put in? Doesn’t the company care?” I said.


“The world is not a fair place. If you’re expecting to get what you deserve, think again! Life is like that. Learn to live with it. Sometimes you put in your best effort and yet things don’t click. You can’t keep winning every time, you can’t please all the people all the time and not everyone will know your true worth.” He replied.


I saw the wisdom in his words.


I thanked my stars that I had the sense to speak to him before taking the rash decision. If I had not spoken to him that day, I don’t know how things would have added up.


Leaving any organization is an important milestone in your career. But how you leave it is also equally important.


So friends, whenever you think about taking this extreme step, think twice. Talk to yourself and more importantly, talk to someone experienced, mature and level headed.


Don’t act in haste and repent in leisure.


Cage the Rage!


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

bottom of page