top of page

My experiments with project tiger !!


The majestic Royal Bengal Tiger (Photo by Jessica Weiller on Unsplash)


It has been one of my life’s most cherished desires: to shoot a Royal Bengal Tiger.


Now hold your horses. When I say shoot, I mean shoot a picture of the Tiger with my camera and not shoot the poor creature with a gun(there are so few left of these magnificent species anyways).


In popular culture, the Lion is referred to as the King of all beasts. But for me, the Tiger wins the crown. The Lion is regal enough, but the Tiger is more bad ass.

(Photo by Kartik Iyer on Unsplash)


Anyways, ever since the photography bug has bitten me, it has been my utmost endeavour to capture the royal king of all Indian beasts on my camera.


Of course, one can argue that you can simply go to the nearest Zoo, find the Tiger enclosure and click away, but that wouldn't be like the real thing. The ultimate thrill would be to capture the beast in full splendour in its natural habitat, like how the guys at Nat Geo and Discovery Channel do.


My love affair with photography all started many years back, when I purchased my first DSLR. You know how it is when you purchase your first high end camera. The saying goes that ‘Every monkey with a DSLR in hand thinks that he’s a photographer’. As a neophyte and with a DSLR in hand you tend to become trigger-happy. Every nook and corner, every alley, every building, every river, lake, pond and even the random flea bitten stray dog roaming on the street becomes a scenic photo opportunity.


As my interest and passion for Photography grew, I soon got fixated on the idea of taking a photo of the Tiger in its natural habitat. That would be my ultimate crowning glory, my pièce de résistance, the biggest feather in my cap so to speak.


The opportunity first presented itself several years back when I was working for the reputed IT company Infosys in Mysore. Mysore, the beautiful and sanguine heritage city of India is known to have some very beautiful monuments and scenic spots. It’s also in close proximity to some of India’s biggest and most famous wildlife sanctuaries like Bandipur, Nagarhole, Wayanad, Mudumalai and Chikmagalur.



The Mysore Palace - (Photo by Syed Ali on Unsplash)


My first destination was the Nagarhole national park. Nagarhole is a pristine wildlife reserve located in the southern jungles of Karnataka bordering Kerala states and near the Wayanad wildlife park. Armed with my camera, some basic photography gear and loads of expectations I scouted the forest for a sign of the majestic striped beast. I was so hoping that I would catch sight of a leopard at least, if not the tiger. But I was to be denied. I didn’t even see so much as a cat. I did click some other great photos though, which was some small consolation.


(Photos from Nagerhole)


In fact, I soon after found out that a leopard had sneaked it’s way inside the Infosys Mysore campus while I was away.




Ah, the irony of it! There I was, a hundred kilometres away trying my best in vain to find the beast, while the sneaky little thing made its way to my office campus.


Not to be deterred, I once again took a chance and this time went off to Bhadra Tiger Sanctuary located at Chikmagalur, Karnataka. Bhadra Reserve is another beautiful wildlife haven located near Mysore.And this time, the added bonus was an exclusive tour of the reserve by jeep, courtesy my colleague who also happened to be a localite. And this time, I was dead sure that we would capture the beast!! And so we roamed all around, hoping to find it. Alas, it was not to be. Once again, the beast proved elusive. I was disappointed, but again was able to gather some more great photos.


(Photos from Chikmagalur)





Disappointed but not disheartened, I kept my hopes alive and this time went off to Bandipur. But once again, I was to return empty handed.


Finally, my patience wore thin. One day, I decided that enough is enough and went to the Bannerghatta National park in Bangalore. And finally, I found what I was looking for!


(Pictures below taken from the Bannerghatta National park - Bangalore)



It wasn’t exactly what I hoped for, but at least something better than nothing.


But all these experiences have not whetted my desire. I am now very much a wounded tiger myself!! I have kept the flame burning within me. One day, I will find the majestic king of Indian beasts in its natural habitat and shoot it: with my camera !!


Cheers !!


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

bottom of page